Philippines 2018

Posted: May 2, 2018 in 2018, Travel

Before joining my beautiful wife for baby Infinity’s first overseas trip, daddy made a little stop in the South Asian Sea to do some scuba diving. Because access to the Bacuit Archipelago is by small propeller plane and boat, and accommodation was bare bones, it wasn’t ideal for mommy and baby.

The was my first site of Palawan island from the window of said propeller plane.

Once on the beach, the friendly Philippine locals were a joy to be around. This guy politely talked me into buying his shark vertebrae bracelet.

Because a typhoon was passing through the area, the water visibility wasn’t suitable for diving. But I did manage to do some exploring between downpours.

The main form of transportation on land were these “tricycles”. It was awesome to see the creativity involved in decorating them.

The main form of transportation on the water were these cool outriggers.

The seafood was amazing!

I ate some scrumptious lemongrass ceviche on the beach as the sun set.

My accommodation was a bit ramshackle, but if I came back with the family, perhaps we’d spring for one of these treehouses!

When the weather cleared up a bit, I was able to tour the archipelago off the coast of El Nido, my base of operation.  (My video of the boat trip and underwater life.)

Amazingly, these little limestone islands hosted a lot of tiny beaches and some even contained secret lagoons inside them.

Here’s a video of a little kayak paddle I made through one of these hidden lagoons.

When I made it back to the civilization of Manila, I had the opportunity to stay with my friend’s father-in-Law. Sam and his wife graciously took me on a tour of Manila that included a meal overlooking the bay.

The Philippines is one of God’s wonders. 5000 islands populated by very friendly people. You can’t go wrong. I hope to return!

Leave a comment